Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Hunger Games Trilogy

A few months ago, it was recommended that I try out the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins.  I wrote down the title of the book and didn't give it another thought until Christmas when I received a Kindle Touch from my husband.  If you have Amazon Prime, they have a deal where you can borrow one book from a selection of books per month to read.  The Hunger Games was coincidentally on the list of books that could be borrowed.  Leaping at the chance to read a book for free that was even recommended to me, I was eager to download the novel.

It took me a day and a half to finish the first novel and 24 hours to finish each of the following books.  I loved these books!  They were so different than the books that I have recently read.  The writing style is great but still easy to read.  The story-line grabs you and is so enticing that you won't want to put the book down.

The first novel, Hunger Games, is set in the future and describes a government that shows their control over the citizens of 12 different districts by forcing children from each district to fight to the death in annual games.  From each district, two children between the ages of twelve and eighteen are chosen.  The children are taken to the Capitol where they train and prepare for a battle in which there is only one victor.  The story follows Katniss Everdeen who volunteers to take her sister's spot in the games.  The story exposes the horrors and hardships of the families and participants in this gory battle.

Although some people read a great deal into the story and found symbolism scattered throughout, the novel can be read with just the primary goal of enjoying the book.  You do not need to understand symbolism or any specific literary terms in order to love this series.

The second novel, Catching Fire, takes place after the Hunger Games ends and follows up with the repercussions that must be faced due to decisions that Katniss Everdeen made while in the arena for the games.  It seems that the Capitol is out to get Katniss because the turmoil she caused in the districts with her gutsy stunts in the arena.

Without giving away too much of what happens in the 1st and 2nd book, the third book is a tale about how districts take steps to improve their way of life against the Capitol's wishes and follows a rebellion.  Katniss is again the center of attention as she becomes the face and inspiration for civilians to fight back.

The movie comes out this coming year and I will definitely be in line to see it.

Hunger Games Official Trailer

Go out and buy these books!


  1. Your blogs have such a great help and all your pictures!! Thank you!

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words!


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.